Register
All Videos
L.I.S.A. Redaktion | 05/17/2017 | 1728 Views | Movies by the Gerda Henkel Foundation |
bookmark

The Slaves of Lagos

The "Earth-Shattering" Work of Bioarchaeology | Episode 2

Back at her home university in Coimbra, anthropologist Dr. Maria Teresa Ferreira and her team are examining the many bones that were found by chance during construction work in Lagos. The first step here is cleaning the human remains to remove dirt and other foreign matter. Following this, thousands of bones have to be measured and catalogued. It’s only then that the researchers get down to the actual puzzle work: Which bones belong together? What do they tell us about the sex and age, but also the origins and circumstances of these people? Do traces of illness and malformations point to hard work? Do the remains discovered here come from slaves? This unique material provides a great deal more data and indications than are apparent at first glance.

DE | EN
L.I.S.A. AUDIO

L.I.S.A. AUDIO

Audio stream of the video

The research project
During the 15th century, the port of the Portuguese city of Lagos was a hub for slave ships from Africa; from here, the human cargo was transshipped for transportation on to other locations in Portugal and Europe. In an emergency excavation on a site earmarked for the construction of an underground parking lot in the district of Valle da Gafaria, which is located outside the Medieval city walls, back in 2009 archaeologists discovered two human burial sites. One belonged to a leper colony, while the second was mixed with a six-meter-thick layer of urban waste from the 15th-17th centuries. This second site contained no less than 158 human skeletons, of which 107 were adults, 49 adolescents, and two were people of an indeterminate age. A number of finds indicate that the people buried here were African slaves: Some of the people were shackled, and many of them wore objects of African origin such as rings and necklaces and had deliberately modified teeth. All the people were buried in a refuse pit without burial rites. The first morphometric and genetic analyses prove the African origin of the people buried in Valle da Gafaria. An AMS C14 investigation dated the beginning of the burials to the time between 1420 and 1480 – and thus around the same time as the first arrival of ships of African slaves in Lagos, according to historical references.

The find at Valle da Gafaria is unique in Portugal; in fact, even worldwide only a few slave cemeteries have been discovered, all of which are located in the New World and date from a significantly later period. The aim of the research work being conducted by Dr. Maria Teresa Ferreira is to comprehensively examine the skeletons discovered in Lagos using the methods of bioarchaeology – and to document the life and death of the people buried at Valle da Gafaria. The central questions relate first of all to determining the relevant biological profile (age, sex, origin, build), the surveying of the paleodemography of the entire find and to the examination of migration movements as well as growth and development factors. Paleopathological analysis should give us indications of illnesses and thus also nutrition, patterns of activity, living conditions and any traumas suffered through violence and mistreatment both before and after death. The Lagos collection offers the opportunity to learn more about the earliest phase of transatlantic trade with slaves during the early modern period, beyond the historical sources we already have. The results of the research project will not only be published in a specialist journal, but will also be presented at national and international academic conferences.

Project leadership

Dr Maria Teresa Ferreira

Location

Lagos, Portugal

Academic Project Manager
Dr. Maria Teresa Ferreira

Editorial Teams
Stephan Zengerle

Camera Technicians
Klaus Hernitschek

Editing Technicians
Klaus Hernitschek

Overall Planning Teams
Gisela Graichen und Peter Prestel

All episodes
Skeletons in the Algarve
Episode 1
05/10/2017
The "Earth-Shattering" Work of Bioarchaeology
Episode 2
05/17/2017
A Journey Back in Time
Episode 3
05/24/2017
Telling Teeth
Episode 4
05/31/2017
Writing a Bit of the History of the Nameless
Episode 5
06/07/2017
The General Interview with Maria Teresa Ferreira
Episode 6
06/14/2017

Kommentar erstellen

7HBIB2


Similar/supplementary info

Login

Registrieren
merken

Die Sklaven von Lagos

EPISODE 2 | "Knochenarbeit" Bioarchäologie

Zurück in ihrer Heimatuniversität Coimbra untersucht die Anthropologin Dr. Maria Teresa Ferreira mit ihrem Team die vielen Knochen, die zufällig bei Bauarbeiten in Lagos gefunden wurden. Erster Schritt ist dabei die Säuberung der menschlichen Überreste von Schmutz und anderem Fremdmaterial. Anschließend müssen Tausende von Knochen vermessen und katalogisiert werden. Erst dann geht es an die eigentliche Puzzlearbeit: Welche Knochen gehören zusammen? Was sagen Sie aus über Geschlecht, Alter, aber auch über Herkunft und Lebensumstände der Menschen? Deuten Krankheitsspuren und Fehlbildungen auf harte Arbeit hin? Handelt es sich bei dem Fund um die Überreste von Sklaven? Das besondere Material liefert viele Daten und Indizien mehr, als auf dem ersten Blick zu vermuten ist.

Das Forschungsprojekt
Der Hafen der portugiesischen Stadt Lagos war im 15. Jahrhundert Anlaufpunkt für Sklavenschiffe aus Afrika, und von dort aus wurden die Menschen in Portugal und Europa weiter verteilt. Bei einer Notgrabung auf einem für den Bau eines unterirdischen Parkhauses vorgesehenen Gebiet im außerhalb der mittelalterlichen Stadtmauern gelegenen Ortsteil Valle da Gafaria entdeckten Archäologen im Jahr 2009 zwei menschliche Begräbnisstätten: eine gehörte zu einem Leprosorium, eine zweite war vermischt mit einer sechs Meter dicken Schicht städtischen Abfalls aus dem 15. bis 17. Jahrhundert. Sie enthielt 158 menschliche Skelette, darunter 107 Erwachsene, 49 Heranwachsende und zwei Personen unbestimmbaren Alters. Zahlreiche Hinweise sprachen dafür, dass die hier Bestatteten afrikanische Sklaven waren: Die Menschen waren teilweise gefesselt, viele trugen Gegenstände afrikanischer Herkunft wie Ringe und Halsketten und hatten absichtlich veränderte Zähne. Alle Personen waren ohne Bestattungsriten in einer Abfallgrube beerdigt worden. Erste morphometrische und genetische Analysen belegten die afrikanische Abstammung der in Valle da Gafaria bestatteten Personen. Eine AMS C14-Untersuchung datierte den Beginn der Bestattungen auf die Zeit zwischen 1420 und 1480 – und somit zeitgleich zu den ersten historischen Verweisen auf die Ankunft von Schiffen mit afrikanischen Sklaven in Lagos.

Innerhalb Portugals ist der Fund von Valle da Gafaria einzigartig, und auch weltweit sind nur wenige Sklavenfriedhöfe bekannt, die noch dazu alle in der Neuen Welt angesiedelt sind und deutlich später angelegt wurden. Ziel eines Forschungsvorhabens von Dr. Maria Teresa Ferreira ist es, die in Lagos aufgefundenen Skelette umfassend mit den Methoden der Bioarchäologie zu untersuchen und das Leben und Sterben der in Valle da Gafaria beerdigten Menschen zu dokumentieren. Leitfragen beziehen sich zum einen auf die Bestimmung des jeweiligen biologischen Profils (Alter, Geschlecht, Herkunft, Gestalt), die Erhebung der Paläodemographie des gesamten Fundes und auf die Untersuchung von Migrationsbewegungen sowie Wachstums- und Entwicklungsfaktoren. Paläopathologische Analysen sollen Hinweise auf Krankheiten und somit auch auf Ernährung, Aktivitätsmuster, Lebensbedingungen und durch Gewalt und Misshandlungen vor und nach dem Tod entstandene Traumata geben. Die Sammlung von Lagos bietet die Gelegenheit, über die zur Verfügung stehenden historischen Quellen hinaus mehr über die früheste Phase des transatlantischen Handels mit Sklaven in der Frühen Neuzeit zu erfahren. Die Ergebnisse des Forschungsprojekts sollen zum einen in Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht und zum anderen bei nationalen und internationalen wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen vorgestellt werden.

Projektleitung:

Dr. Maria Teresa Ferreira

Ort:

Lagos, Portugal

Kommentar erstellen

7F9D27