Register
All Videos
L.I.S.A. Redaktion | 06/07/2017 | 1584 Views | Movies by the Gerda Henkel Foundation |
bookmark

The Slaves of Lagos

Writing a Bit of the History of the Nameless | Episode 5

The next step in the scientific research into the skeletons discovered in the Portuguese port city of Lagos is digital recording. Each bone is digitized and incorporated into a suitably large database. This way, with the use of modern 3D technology, it is possible to investigate human remains even more thoroughly. The second effect is that digitization means the bones are available via the internet to researchers from other parts of the world too. This means a network of scientists builds up, all of whom can bring in their particular areas of competence. The story of the thus far nameless skeletons thus gradually takes shape so that a new overall picture is formed.

DE | EN
L.I.S.A. AUDIO

L.I.S.A. AUDIO

Audio stream of the video

Google Maps

The research project
During the 15th century, the port of the Portuguese city of Lagos was a hub for slave ships from Africa; from here, the human cargo was transshipped for transportation on to other locations in Portugal and Europe. In an emergency excavation on a site earmarked for the construction of an underground parking lot in the district of Valle da Gafaria, which is located outside the Medieval city walls, back in 2009 archaeologists discovered two human burial sites. One belonged to a leper colony, while the second was mixed with a six-meter-thick layer of urban waste from the 15th-17th centuries. This second site contained no less than 158 human skeletons, of which 107 were adults, 49 adolescents, and two were people of an indeterminate age. A number of finds indicate that the people buried here were African slaves: Some of the people were shackled, and many of them wore objects of African origin such as rings and necklaces and had deliberately modified teeth. All the people were buried in a refuse pit without burial rites. The first morphometric and genetic analyses prove the African origin of the people buried in Valle da Gafaria. An AMS C14 investigation dated the beginning of the burials to the time between 1420 and 1480 – and thus around the same time as the first arrival of ships of African slaves in Lagos, according to historical references.

The find at Valle da Gafaria is unique in Portugal; in fact, even worldwide only a few slave cemeteries have been discovered, all of which are located in the New World and date from a significantly later period. The aim of the research work being conducted by Dr. Maria Teresa Ferreira is to comprehensively examine the skeletons discovered in Lagos using the methods of bioarchaeology – and to document the life and death of the people buried at Valle da Gafaria. The central questions relate first of all to determining the relevant biological profile (age, sex, origin, build), the surveying of the paleodemography of the entire find and to the examination of migration movements as well as growth and development factors. Paleopathological analysis should give us indications of illnesses and thus also nutrition, patterns of activity, living conditions and any traumas suffered through violence and mistreatment both before and after death. The Lagos collection offers the opportunity to learn more about the earliest phase of transatlantic trade with slaves during the early modern period, beyond the historical sources we already have. The results of the research project will not only be published in a specialist journal, but will also be presented at national and international academic conferences.

Project leadership

Dr Maria Teresa Ferreira

Location

Lagos, Portugal

Academic Project Manager
Dr. Maria Teresa Ferreira

Editorial Teams
Stephan Zengerle

Camera Technicians
Klaus Hernitschek

Editing Technicians
Klaus Hernitschek

Overall Planning Teams
Gisela Graichen und Peter Prestel

All episodes
Skeletons in the Algarve
Episode 1
05/10/2017
The "Earth-Shattering" Work of Bioarchaeology
Episode 2
05/17/2017
A Journey Back in Time
Episode 3
05/24/2017
Telling Teeth
Episode 4
05/31/2017
Writing a Bit of the History of the Nameless
Episode 5
06/07/2017
The General Interview with Maria Teresa Ferreira
Episode 6
06/14/2017

Kommentar erstellen

0K79CJ


Similar/supplementary info

Login

Registrieren
merken

Die Sklaven von Lagos

EPISODE 5 | Ein Stück Geschichte für die Namenlosen

Der nächste Schritt bei der wissenschaftlichen Erforschung der Skelettfunde aus der portugiesischen Hafenstadt Lagos ist die digitale Erfassung. Jeder Knochen wird digitalisiert und in eine entsprechend große Datenbank aufgenommen. Moderne 3D-Technik erlaubt dabei die Untersuchung der menschlichen Überreste noch genauer vorzunehmen. Der zweite Effekt: Digitalisiert stehen die Knochen über das Internet auch Forscherinnen und Forschern aus anderen Teilen der Welt zur Verfügung. So spannt sich ein Netz aus Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, die jeweils ihre speziellen Kompetenzen einbringen können. Die Geschichte der bislang namenlosen Skelette bekommt so allmählich Konturen, aus denen sich ein neues Gesamtbild fügt.

Google Maps

Das Forschungsprojekt
Der Hafen der portugiesischen Stadt Lagos war im 15. Jahrhundert Anlaufpunkt für Sklavenschiffe aus Afrika, und von dort aus wurden die Menschen in Portugal und Europa weiter verteilt. Bei einer Notgrabung auf einem für den Bau eines unterirdischen Parkhauses vorgesehenen Gebiet im außerhalb der mittelalterlichen Stadtmauern gelegenen Ortsteil Valle da Gafaria entdeckten Archäologen im Jahr 2009 zwei menschliche Begräbnisstätten: eine gehörte zu einem Leprosorium, eine zweite war vermischt mit einer sechs Meter dicken Schicht städtischen Abfalls aus dem 15. bis 17. Jahrhundert. Sie enthielt 158 menschliche Skelette, darunter 107 Erwachsene, 49 Heranwachsende und zwei Personen unbestimmbaren Alters. Zahlreiche Hinweise sprachen dafür, dass die hier Bestatteten afrikanische Sklaven waren: Die Menschen waren teilweise gefesselt, viele trugen Gegenstände afrikanischer Herkunft wie Ringe und Halsketten und hatten absichtlich veränderte Zähne. Alle Personen waren ohne Bestattungsriten in einer Abfallgrube beerdigt worden. Erste morphometrische und genetische Analysen belegten die afrikanische Abstammung der in Valle da Gafaria bestatteten Personen. Eine AMS C14-Untersuchung datierte den Beginn der Bestattungen auf die Zeit zwischen 1420 und 1480 – und somit zeitgleich zu den ersten historischen Verweisen auf die Ankunft von Schiffen mit afrikanischen Sklaven in Lagos.

Innerhalb Portugals ist der Fund von Valle da Gafaria einzigartig, und auch weltweit sind nur wenige Sklavenfriedhöfe bekannt, die noch dazu alle in der Neuen Welt angesiedelt sind und deutlich später angelegt wurden. Ziel eines Forschungsvorhabens von Dr. Maria Teresa Ferreira ist es, die in Lagos aufgefundenen Skelette umfassend mit den Methoden der Bioarchäologie zu untersuchen und das Leben und Sterben der in Valle da Gafaria beerdigten Menschen zu dokumentieren. Leitfragen beziehen sich zum einen auf die Bestimmung des jeweiligen biologischen Profils (Alter, Geschlecht, Herkunft, Gestalt), die Erhebung der Paläodemographie des gesamten Fundes und auf die Untersuchung von Migrationsbewegungen sowie Wachstums- und Entwicklungsfaktoren. Paläopathologische Analysen sollen Hinweise auf Krankheiten und somit auch auf Ernährung, Aktivitätsmuster, Lebensbedingungen und durch Gewalt und Misshandlungen vor und nach dem Tod entstandene Traumata geben. Die Sammlung von Lagos bietet die Gelegenheit, über die zur Verfügung stehenden historischen Quellen hinaus mehr über die früheste Phase des transatlantischen Handels mit Sklaven in der Frühen Neuzeit zu erfahren. Die Ergebnisse des Forschungsprojekts sollen zum einen in Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht und zum anderen bei nationalen und internationalen wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen vorgestellt werden.

Projektleitung:

Dr. Maria Teresa Ferreira

Ort:

Lagos, Portugal

Kommentar erstellen

Q1248S